Sign up below to be added to our mailing list for the latest news updates, access to exclusive contents, and more!
LAKEVIEW, Ohio - The mother of the 10-year-old who received a tattoo from a 16-year-old artist in Logan County has been charged with a single count of child endangering in connection to the case, according to court records.
Nikki Dickinson, 34, has a warrant out for her arrest, records show.
A 16-year-old tattoo artist also is facing two misdemeanor counts accusing him of delinquency stemming from the investigation into a Facebook video which allegedly showed him giving a 10-year-old boy a permanent tattoo, went viral and caught the attention of police.
WHAT IS ARTIST ACCUSED OF DOING?
The charge, tattooing prohibitions — a fourth-degree misdemeanor if committed by an adult — was filed last week in the Logan County Common Pleas Court Juvenile Division.
One count of the delinquency charge against the 16-year-old artist involves the sterilization of equipment. The other count accuses him of violating safety and sanitation standards, according to court record.
The artist, who according to the court documents lives in the village of Lakeview, was being detained in the juvenile detention center on an unrelated offense, Logan County Prosecutor Eric Stewart said.
More than 14,000 people have shared the video showing the boy getting tattoo, which police said was recorded by the 10-year-old boy’s mother.
No felony charges are expected against her, but Stewart said the case has been referred to the municipal prosecutor’s office for possible misdemeanor charges.
Logan County Children’s Services also has an open investigation into the family.
Bellefontaine police have received calls from all over the country from people who have said they are upset about the video.
Lt. Rick Herring told News Center 7's Kate Bartley Wednesday the agency received the first report on Monday and went to a Bellefontaine apartment complex to check on the family.
The boy told officers he wanted the tattoo, Herring said.
According to Ohio law, it is illegal to tattoo a child unless the parent gives consent. But, police said, tattoos must be done in a safe and sanitary environment.
‘THAT’S CHILD ABUSE, I WOULD SAY’
Nick Harrison, a tattoo artist with Blue Byrd Tattoo in Dayton, told Bartley he was caught off guard by seeing the video because of the age of the child getting the ink.
“That’s child abuse, I would say,” Harrison said, noting potential patrons have to be 18 and up at Blue Byrd Tattoo. That has been the policy since the business opened in 1999, he said.
“We’ve done a lot of cover-ups on stuff that underage kids get, stuff they don’t like when they’re older,” he said.
What would happen if a 10-year-old and his or her mother walked in at Blue Byrd, wanting a tattoo for the child?
“I think most of us would probably laugh them out the door,” Harrison said.
You may be offline. Please check your connection and try again using the Retry button.