2021 BAFTA Awards: ‘Nomadland’ wins 4 prizes; see the complete winners list

LONDON — The 74th British Academy Film Awards, spanning two nights, concluded Sunday from Royal Albert Hall, with “Nomadland” taking top honors in four categories.

Filmmaker Chloé Zhao became only the second woman, and the first woman of color, to win for best director, and her “gig-economy western” took best picture. The film’s star, Frances McDormand, won best actress, while “Nomadland” also won for best cinematography, Entertainment Tonight reported.

>> Read more trending news

Meanwhile, “Promising Young Woman” was named best British film, and the legendary Anthony Hopkins, 83, won best actor for his portrayal of a man coping with dementia in “The Father,” Variety reported.

The awards briefly paid tribute to Prince Philip, who served as the organization’s first president and died Friday at the age of 99.

The technical categories were awarded Saturday night.

Despite the COVID-19-conscious lack of a red carpet, the two-night affair’s celebrity presenters included Renée Zellweger, Rose Byrne, Andra Day, Hugh Grant, Leslie Odom Jr. and Priyanka Chopra, among others, Variety reported.

See the complete list of winners (noted in bold and italics) below.

Best film

• “The Father”

• “The Mauritanian”

• “Nomadland” - WINNER

• “Promising Young Woman”

• “The Trial of the Chicago 7″

Outstanding British film

• “Calm With Horses”

• “The Dig”

• “The Father”

• “His House”

• “Limbo”

• “The Mauritanian”

• “Mogul Mowgli”

• “Promising Young Woman” - WINNER

• “Rocks”

• “Saint Maud”

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

• “His House” – Remi Weekes (writer/director) - WINNER

• “Limbo” – Ben Sharrock (writer/director), Irune Gurtubai (producer)

• “Moffie” – Jack Sidey (writer/producer)

• “Rocks” – Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson (writers)

• “Saint Maud” – Rose Glass (writer/director), Oliver Kassman (producer)

Best actress

• Bukky Bakray, “Rocks”

• Radha Blank, “The Forty-Year-Old Version”

• Vanessa Kirby, “Pieces of a Woman”

• Frances McDormand, “Nomadland” - WINNER

• Wunmi Mosaku, “His House”

• Alfre Woodard, “Clemency”

Best actor

• Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal”

• Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”

• Adarsh Gourav, “The White Tiger”

• Anthony Hopkins, “The Father” - WINNER

• Mads Mikkelsen, “Another Round”

• Tahar Rahim, “The Mauritanian”

Best supporting actress

• Niamh Algar, “Calm With Horses”

• Kosar Ali, “Rocks”

• Maria Bakalova, “Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”

• Dominique Fishback, “Judas and the Black Messiah”

• Ashley Madekwe, “County Lines”

• Youn Yuh-jung, “Minari” - WINNER

Best supporting actor

• Daniel Kaluuya, “Judas and the Black Messiah” - WINNER

• Barry Keoghan, “Calm With Horses”

• Alan Kim, ”Minari”

• Leslie Odom Jr., “One Night in Miami”

• Clarke Peters, “Da 5 Bloods”

• Paul Raci, “Sound of Metal”

Best film not in the English language

• “Another Round” - WINNER

• “Dear Comrades!”

• “Les Misérables”

• “Minari”

• “Quo Vadis, Aida?”

Best documentary

• “Collective”

• “David Attenborough: A Life on Our Planet”

• “The Dissident”

• “My Octopus Teacher” - WINNER

• “The Social Dilemma”

Best animated film

• “Onward”

• “Soul” - WINNER

• “Wolfwalkers”

Best director

• Thomas Vinterberg, “Another Round”

• Shannon Murphy, “Babyteeth”

• Lee Isaac Chung, “Minari”

• Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” - WINNER

• Jasmila Žbanić, “Quo Vadis, Aida?”

• Sarah Gavron, “Rocks”

Best original screenplay

• Tobias Lindholm, Thomas Vinterberg, “Another Round”

• Jack Fincher, “Mank”

• Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman” - WINNER

• Theresa Ikoko, Claire Wilson, “Rocks”

• Aaron Sorkin, “The Trial of the Chicago 7″

Best adapted screenplay

• Moira Buffini, “The Dig”

• Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller, “The Father” - WINNER

• Rory Haines, Sohrab Noshirvani, MB Traven, “The Mauritanian”

• Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland”

• Ramin Bahrani, “The White Tiger”

Best original score

• “Mank”

• “Minari”

• “News of the World”

• “Promising Young Woman”

• “Soul” - WINNER

Best cinematography

• “Judas and the Black Messiah”

• “Mank”

• “The Mauritanian’

• “News of the World”

• “Nomadland” - WINNER

Best editing

• “The Father”

• “Nomadland”

• “Promising Young Woman”

• “Sound of Metal” - WINNER

• “The Trial of the Chicago 7:

Best casting

• “Calm With Horses”

• “Judas and the Black Messiah”

• “Minari”

• “Promising Young Woman”

• “Rocks”- WINNER

Best production design

• “The Dig”

• “The Father”

• “Mank” - WINNER

• “News of the World”

• “Rebecca”

Best costume design

• “Ammonite”

• “The Dig”

• “Emma”

• “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” - WINNER

• “Mank”

Best make up and hair

• “The Dig”

• “Hillbilly Elegy”

• “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” - WINNER

• “Mank”

• “Pinocchio”

Best sound

• “Greyhound”

• “News of the World”

• “Nomadland”

• “Soul”

• “Sound of Metal” - WINNER

Best special visual effects

• “Greyhound”

• “The Midnight Sky”

• “Mulan”

• “The One and Only Ivan”

• “Tenet” - WINNER

Best British short animation

• “The Fire Next Time”

• “he Owl and the Pussycat” - WINNER

• “The Song of a Lost Boy”

Best British short film

• “Eyelash”

• “Lizard”

• “Lucky Break”

• “Miss Curvy”

• “The Present” - WINNER

EE Rising Star award (voted for by the public)

• Bukky Bakray - WINNER

• Kingsley Ben-Adir

• Morfydd Clark

• Ṣọpẹ Dìrísù

• Conrad Khan

On AirCountry Legends 97.1FM - Houston's Home for Country Legends! Logo

mobile apps

Everything you love about countrylegends971.com and more! Tap on any of the buttons below to download our app.

amazon alexa

Enable our Skill today to listen live at home on your Alexa Devices!